Taking stock – First 100 blog-posts

October 17, 2011 at 10:14 am | Posted in Blogroll, Out of my mind | Leave a comment

When I added the entry on my blog last Monday, I was pleasantly surprised to receive a notification that it was my 100th post; it felt good. This has been an interesting journey and I am keen to share it with you.

I started blogging in Feb 2006 and wrote a few times. But then there was total silence till Dec 2009. I always thought of restarting but never got around to actually doing it. During this period I was also reading blogs written by others with similar interests as mine. One thing that stood out again and again was that successful bloggers were regular; and I wanted to be a successful blogger, so obvious choice was to follow the same practice myself 🙂

I came back with a bang on 31st Dec 2009 with a shocking New Year resolution to be completely “SELFISH” in the coming year. Soon after, from Feb 2010 I made a rule for myself to publish a new post every Monday morning; rain or sunshine. It has now become a habit & second nature with me. I spend about 3-5 hours, generally over the weekend, writing and polishing it.

Sometimes my wife asks me, especially when we are on vacation, what harm if I take it easy sometimes. Who is going to miss it? In a way she is right, but I write primarily for myself. More I share my thoughts and experiences, more and more new ideas start flowing. Maintaining the regularity has really helped me tremendously.

The initial areas of interest were: Organization culture, software engineering and systems improvement. But as I kept writing, new ideas would keep coming. They would just pop up, I don’t know from where, but till I put them down they just keep my mind occupied. These ideas are not taken from other sources and I myself am not aware of the source so I put them under the category “Out of my mind”. It has two meanings; literal as they come “out of my mind” and in a lighter vein as if I was asking myself “Are you out of your mind?” This helps me not to take myself too seriously.

Most of the ideas are conceptual and I am quite comfortable at the level of concepts. I never realized that for a reader, pure concepts would mean nothing unless he can relate them to practical examples. It is normally said that a picture is worth a thousand words. In similar fashion, I believe that a concept is worth a thousand pictures. But when it is in such a compressed form, it needs support of practical experiences one can picture in one’s mind.

I started trying to explain concepts with examples but this was quite tough. So I tried another approach; take a real experience in which I was involved and link it to a concept or concepts. This has worked well. When I come in contact with persons who have read the blog, invariably they like and remember where it has practical experiences which they can relate to. I have also benefited in the process as with any unusual experience, my mind now starts thinking of the underlying concepts; the process which I thoroughly enjoy.

Over the last year and half, the topics have slowly narrowed down to the two distinct yet closely related concepts of “Practice excellence” and “Structured freedom”. I am realizing more & more the great potential these two concepts have in all walks of our lives and in a large variety of situations. In the near future, I am planning to focus on these two and explore them as much as I can so that I can share the outcome with the readers.

Another interesting aspect is the beauty of looking at things from a systems approach. Actually, systems approach resides at the boundary of thinking / feeling beyond which is just pure experience without any thoughts or emotions. Occasional glimpses into that region beyond have provided some valuable insights at the metaphysical / spiritual level. The joy of it can’t be expressed in words.

On the whole, this has been a great journey in the blogosphere and I am keenly looking forward to continue sharing what I come across.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

